Mother Nature is an Ornery Old Woman…

The more years I acquire, the less I think of Mother Nature as a benevolent force. Where I used to possess a strong back, eagle eyes, and boundless energy, now it’s necessary to make adjustments… limiting my time bent over unless I want to walk like a neanderthal… reading glasses… taking a break between tasks.

If your back is telling you it’s time to replace your oven, consider one that opens from the side or with French doors.

Bosch side-open wall ovendouble frdoor ovenbluestar french door range

So maybe she’s not all bad; in her efforts to preserve my health, Mother Nature has also made it difficult for me to eat white flour or too much sugar. So ciao, bello, to the Bobby Flay pizza dough recipe I’ve used faithfully for years and the banana bread recipe with two cups of white sugar. I began a search for recipes to replace the processed sugary treats with healthy replacements that taste decadent.

In the interest of time, I perused recipes on Pinterest rather than consulting my plentiful supply of cookbooks. The thing I have to keep reminding myself is that Pinterest is a visual site. Translation: just because it looks good, doesn’t mean it tastes good.

I found one delightful recipe that I’ve already made three times, and one epic fail, which I made twice. After today’s unsavory result, I tossed that recipe into the trash.

20160429_115303
No-Bake Paleo Chocolate Avocado Pudding

If you read the ingredients on the boxes of processed foods, you might be shocked to find the first or second ingredient is sugar. Even items like bread and salad dressing contain sugar. And items made from flour contain bleached enriched flour, with all of the whole-grain goodness gone. Poof! Just like that. Processed food that is supposed to have a creamy emulsified consistency is often made that way with the addition of some type of gluten. If you want the recipe, just click the title.

The beauty of this recipe is its use of whole foods. The texture is amazing without one bit of gluten or added food starch. Mother Nature deserves props for this one.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

